2024 Texas Furniture Show Awards Announced

Strazza With Bench and Judges

During a reception for the 24th Annual Texas Furniture Makers Show, Saturday, November 11, judges Miriam Carpenter, a designer and artist from Bucks County, Pennsylvania, Clark Kellogg, a furniture maker based in Houston; and Jason Thigpen, owner of Texas Heritage Woodworks in Menard, Texas awarded over $8000 in cash and prizes to furniture makers for their fine crafted furniture pieces on display at Kerr Arts & Cultural Center in Kerrville.

Frank Strazza of Kerrville, Texas won the Jim Derby Award of Excellence (Best of Show) with his Ruobo Worksbench.  Other awards given are as follows:

Second Place: Matthew Hedgepath Smith, Austin – Parquet Cabinet

Third Place: Danny Kamerath, Llano – “Hilda” sculptured broom & dustpan

Majestic Ranch Arts Foundation Award: – Danny Kamerath, Llano – “Daisy” chest of drawers

Best Traditional Style:  M.L. Bolton, Belton – Gentelman’s Valet

Best Texas Style: Matthew Kressin, Austin – From the Ashes Table

Best Art Style: Joe Adams & Erich Elfeldt, Manvel – Take Flight Lamp

Best Emerging Artist: Jonathon LeBlanc, Houston – Display Table

SAPFM Award: Randolph Secrest, Spicewood – Chest of Fewer Drawers

Ridge Carbide Award – Max Niemiec, Richardson – Apex Table

Fine Woodworking Award – Matthew Hedgepath Smith, Austin – Ballast Coffee Table

Uel Clanton Memorial Award for Woodturning – Blake Lorree, Waco – Ember Chair

Woodcraft Sponsor’s Award: Bruce Phillips, Garden Ridge – Extra Spare Chair

Rex White Memorial Award for Finishes: Danny Kamerath, Llano – “Hilda” Broom and Dustpan

Furniture Show Committee Award: Gary & Austin Weeks, Wimberley – Webb Dining Chair

Alamo Hardwoods Award: Michelle Myers, Austin – Tear Drop Mirror

Alamo Hardwoods Award::Mark Seay, Plano – Greene & Greene Nightstands

Jim Wallace Award for Unusual Materials: Wayne Wise, Georgetown – “Damn Sodbusters” Wall Hanging

Precision Saw & Tool Award: Brady Stafford, Little Elm – Purple Heart Seat

Berdoll Sawmill Award: Wayne Delyea, Granbury – Wings of Victory Cabinet

Berdoll Sawmill Award: Wayne Locke, Austin – Galloping Table #7

People's Choice Award: Frank Strazza, Kerrville - Ruobo Workbench

Judges Special Awards were also awarded to: Jon Percy of Austin, Paul Paschal of San Angelo, John Burton of Aledo and David Flicker of Brenham.

The Texas Furniture Makers Show will be on display through December 15th.  Gallery hours are 10-4, Tuesday - Saturday.  KACC is located at 228 Earl Garrett, across from the Kerr County Courthouse in Kerrville. For more information, contact (830) 895-2911 or visit https://www.texasfurnituremakersshow.org/

Photo: Frank Strazza (center) poses with Texas Furniture Makers Show 2024 judges Jason Thigpen, Miriam Carpenter and Clark Kellogg.